Special Award Winners

Our Special Awards, including Elegance Awards, are selected by special committees of Honorary Judges.

While most Special Award Trophies are perpetual and are maintained at Pebble Beach, winners are generally presented with a suitable trophy — often based on the Pebble Beach Concours Trophy designed by Emmanuel Zurini. 

Ansel Adams Award

Established in 1984, goes to the most desirable touring car in its era. The well-known photographer served often as an Honorary Judge at this Concours.

2019 Winner:
1910 Marmon 32 Five Passenger Touring
Mike & Sharon Silvera, Minden, Nevada

ArtCenter College of Design Award

Established in 2002, goes to the car that showed the best use of new technology in its era, had groundbreaking style and engineering, and has had the greatest impact on car design today.

2019 Winner:
1967 Ferrari 412 P Coupe
MJJV Cars, Rye, New York

Dean Batchelor Trophy

Donated by Ford Motor Company in 1977, is awarded to the most significant car related to our Hot Rod heritage. Batchelor was a noted auto writer and historian.

2019 Winner:
1932 Ford Bob Morris Roadster
Bruce Meyer, Beverly Hills, California

Lucius Beebe Trophy

The first perpetual trophy to be established at the Concours, was first awarded in 1966. It goes to the Rolls-Royce considered most in tradition of Lucius Beebe, a bon vivant who served among our early judges.

2019 Winner:
1937 Rolls-Royce Phantom III Inskip Special Henley Coupé
Lord Bamford, United Kingdom

Chairman’s Trophy

Established in 1983, is awarded to the most deserving car present as selected by the Chairman.

2019 Winner:
1968 Howmet TX Coupe
Andreas Mohringer, Salzburg, Austria

Charles A. Chayne Trophy

Established in 1978, is awarded to the car with the most advanced engineering of its era. Chayne, a former General Motors Vice President of Engineering, was a great supporter of this Concours.

2019 Winner:
1925 Lancia Lambda 5th Series Torpedo
Stanley & Merle Bauer, Beverly Hills, California

Classic Car Club of America Trophy

Instituted in 2000, is awarded to the most significant classic car present.

2019 Winner:
1930 Duesenberg J Murphy Disappearing Top Roadster
Paul & Cheryl Petrovich, Pebble Beach, California

Briggs Cunningham Trophy

Donated in 1978 by Briggs Cunningham himself, is awarded to the most exciting open car present. Cunningham was a great American sportsman and automobile creator and collector.

2019 Winner:
1932 Maserati V4 Zagato Spider
Lawrence Auriana, Greenwich, Connecticut

Elegance in Motion Trophy

Established in 1988, is awarded to the car deemed to be most elegant in motion. To qualify for this award, a car must have successfully completed the Pebble Beach Tour d’Elegance.

2019 Winner:
1937 Horch 853 Glӓser Sport Cabriolet
Valerie & Aaron Weiss, San Marino, California

Enzo Ferrari Trophy

Named for the Maestro himself, is awarded to the best Ferrari present. This trophy was preceded by the Hans Tanner Trophy from 1974 to 1995, and the Luigi Chinetti Trophy from 1996 to 2004.

2019 Winner:
1954 Ferrari 735 S Monza Scaglietti Spyder
Thomas Peck, Huntington Beach, California

FIVA Postwar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

2019 Winner:
1965 Aston Martin DB5 Vantage Coupé
William & Christopher Sharples, New York, New York

FIVA Prewar Trophy

First presented in 1999, go to the best preserved and regularly driven cars as determined by a special committee guided by FIVA regulations.

2019 Winner:
1907 Renault XB Labourdette Transformable Landaulet
Steve & Marilee Hamilton, Washoe Valley, Nevada

The French Cup

Established in the mid-1980’s, is awarded to the most significant car of French origin.

2019 Winner:
1950 Talbot-Lago T26 Grand Sport Rocco Motto Barchetta
Ralph & Marion Stadler, Meggen, Switzerland

Gran Turismo Trophy

Established in 2008, is awarded to the most significant car balancing both artistic beauty and performance at the highest level and most desired for inclusion in the Gran Turismo game series.

2019 Winner:
1931 Alfa Romeo 8C 2300 Zagato Spider
Jonathan Feiber and Heather Buhr, Atherton, California

The Phil Hill Cup

It began as The Pebble Beach Cup and was awarded initially to the winner of the Pebble Beach Road Races. After the races concluded, it reemerged as Concours award for the most significant race car. In 2005, it was renamed for Hill, a World Driver’s Champion who had not only won three of the seven early Pebble Beach Road Races, but also won Best of Show twice at the Concours and was a longtime judge here.

2019 Winner:
1929 Bentley 4½ Litre Birkin Blower Number 4 Vanden Plas Le Mans Tourer
Ralph Lauren, New York, New York

Tony Hulman Trophy

Donated in 1993 by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation, is awarded to the most significant open wheel race car. Hulman owned the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for decades, and the Indianapolis 500 often started with his command, “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines.”

2019 Winner:
1919 Ballot Indianapolis Race Car
Miles Collier Collections at Revs Institute, Naples, Florida

Lincoln Trophy

This award goes to the most significant Lincoln.

2019 Winner:
1941 Lincoln Continental Brunn Town Car
Marshall Miller, Kansas City, Missouri

Mercedes-Benz Star of Excellence Award

Donated in 1987 by Mercedes-Benz as the company embarked on its second century of existence, is presented to the most significant Mercedes-Benz.

2019 Winner:
1903 Mercedes Simplex 18/22 Tourer
Craig & Susan McCaw, Kirkland, Washington

Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Donated by Lord Montagu in 1982, is awarded to the most significant car of British origin.

2019 Winner:
1907 Napier 60 HP Roi des Belges
Louwman Museum, The Hague, The Netherlands

CARS at Stanford Award

Established in 2013, is presented to the most technologically advanced automobile of its time on our show field, as determined by students and professors from CARS: The Center of Automotive Research at Stanford.

2019 Winner:
1921 Bentley 3 Litre Harrison Open Two Seater Sports
Private Collection, Switzerland

Lorin Tryon Trophy

Established in 1999, recognizes an automotive enthusiast who has contributed significantly to the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance and the car collector world. Tryon served as this event’s Co-Chairman for nearly three decades; his passion and expertise drew the most elegant cars to Pebble Beach.

2019 Winner:
Bob Cole

Alec Ulmann Trophy

Established in 2012, is awarded to the car that best embodies the combination of excellence in performance and elegance in design.

2019 Winner:
1929 Hispano-Suiza H6C Saoutchik Cabriolet
Charles & Karen Nearburg, Dallas, Texas

The Vitesse ~ Elegance Trophy

Established in 2012, is awarded to the car that best emobdies the combination of excellence in performance and elegance in design.

2019 Winner:
1962 Aston Martin DB4GT Zagato Coupé
David F. MacNeil, Fort Lauderdale, Florida